Week 1 Monday Reads

With 180 #BCM240 bloggers firing up, soon to be joined by a crew in Malaysia and another group in Hong Kong, how should we try to keep up?

If I was looking for a GIF to summarise this, it would involve the Indy 500 and a deafening roar. (This is a nod to all the bloggers including GIFs in their intros. I feel like the early motion picture audiences who marvelled at all the moving things.)

What I’m going to do each week, and others of the teaching team might join in, is put together a Monday Reads blog, where I’ll link to blogs that have caught my eye.

This isn’t a judgement about quality, it’s usually about a small detail that’s got me thinking. So if you feature here, take this as a thank you for writing your post.

OK, a few that worked for me.

Early in the week, Will Littlefield wrote an experienced user’s guide to BCM240 that made me laugh out loud. It’s the gorilla. And full marks for helpful candour:

This is not the first time I have taken this subject. It’s not even the second time I have taken this subject. In-fact this will be the third time and I will save you all the “third time is the charm”, “round three *ding* *ding*” one-liners by cutting straight to the chase. BLOGGING IS HARD, especially when procrastination is your spirit animal.

Next up, Isabel Napier caught my eye with the best blog name joke I’ve seen, and a great post about secret media spaces. As a former anonymous blogger, I really related to this post.

My username is not my name. My icon is not me. … I’m not ashamed of that side, or my activity in that media space because it is who I am and how I want to spend it—but some allure and mystery, rather than your whole personality uploaded online isn’t such a bad idea.

An interesting number of you have international relocation experience, in which media use is about maintaining contacts with people far away. I picked Tess Baldwin, who just moved from Canada to Australia. Tess introduces us to something very important about media space, which is that we divide the world’s spaces into timezones, and then this happens:

From the minute I wake up in the morning until about 2:00pm I am constantly iMessaging my friends at home in Toronto. After the 2:00pm mark though, they all start to go to sleep and I am left having to actually interact with the world outside of my media. I have to take a step out of my Canadian media bubble and meet some Australians. How scary is that?

I’m really interested in this idea of being able to operate “in a Canadian media bubble”, as I think I do a bit of this myself in relation to US online networks that I’m part of. And Tess isn’t the only one in #BCM240 for whom home is somewhere else than here.

Last week I asked how many of you sleep with a media device in or near the bed. I know this is something that changed in my own life over the past 2 years, and I’ve been thinking a lot about how media devices have reframed ideas about previously very private spaces like bedrooms and bathrooms. Here’s Dana, far from the only one in #BCM240 sleeping with an iPad or phone.

I think my morning routine reflects my media presence, as I wake up and the first thing I do is reach over and grab my IPad (which sleeps right next to my pillow on my bed) and check every social media account I uses on a regular basis including Instagram, YouTube, Facebook, Snapchat, Team App, Gmail and Tumblr.

And here’s Andy who has much the same routine.

For many of you, these connections are primarily social. But one of the things that has really changed about media space is how often we are now literally in bed with our employers, our colleagues, and our jobs in a general sense. This is something to think about.

Finally, a flashback to high school from Giverny Witheridge. When did you first take a device to school? What were the rules that managed its use?

For me, one of the most exciting, and perhaps memorable, parts of entering Year 7 was receiving my very own mobile phone pass. This small, lamented piece of orange paper painstakingly written and signed by the Year Advisor entitled me, and over 200 other Year 7 students, the privilege of carrying around our mobile phone during school hours (for a ‘justifiable’ reason, of course!). Just like the ‘No Hat, No Play’ rule in primary school, those students who did not carry a phone pass and were caught using their device would have to report immediately to the front office, where their beloved item was confiscated for the day.

Thanks everyone, this has been really thought provoking. I’ve read quite a few more blogs than this, and I’m really looking forward to what’s to come. Meanwhile, welcome back to #BCM240 international traveller and tutor Travis Holland, who has just written this excellent piece on medium.com, The One Where They Go To New York. It’s a fantastic piece, and exactly what we’re on about in thinking about media place.

What does it feel like to visit a city that is already familiar to you, even though you’ve never been there?

Leave a Reply

